still life; three versions

Three versions of the same still life, painted earlier today using a limited palette of acrylic paints on paper. Its may be obvious from the differences between the three paintings that what was  interesting to me was, rather than trying to reproduce on paper, the objects in a realistic three dimensional space, was instead simply the paint as colour and as a material substance, the shapes of the bottle and the fruit, and the plate. In that way these three are I think consistent with other paintings I’ve been making recently, which objectively, may appear more abstract.
P1000849

P1000850

P1000851

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “still life; three versions

  1. I like these a lot, Martin. I think it’s trickier than it looks to paint a still life as flat shapes. I’ve been thinking this afternoon that I need to get back to my series since we may have some cloudier days this week (my painting space is far too hot to paint in when it’s sunny in summer), and wondering how to progress with them.

Leave a Reply

